Knights Of Columbus


The Knights of Columbus: the world’s largest Catholic fraternal service organization comprised of over 15,000 Councils and 1.9 million Catholic men around the world. Dedicated to providing charitable services within both the Church and their communities, the Knights of Columbus are committed to four core principles: Charity, Unity, Fraternity and Patriotism.

Fr. Shyshkowich Council # 8925 was granted its Charter on March 27, 1985. Our Council was named after a Redemptorist Priest, Rev. Gregory Shyshkowich C.Ss.R. In 1928, after ten years of missionary work in Ukraine, Fr. Shyshkowich began his missionary and pastoral work in Canada and the United States. He was regarded by the Ukrainian Canadians as the “Ukrainian Missionary” and assisted in founding St. Joseph’s Ukrainian Catholic Parish.

Fr. Shyshkowich Council supports the many activities and programs at St. Joseph’s Church both financially and with many hours of volunteer work. The Council’s community outreach includes financial support to many charities, foundations and organizations such as participation in the Coats for Kids program; preparation and serving Thanksgiving and Christmas Dinners at the Welcome Home and a meal at a local drop in centre.

For further information please contact Mike Kiernicki at 204-694-9196.


Fr. Shyshkowich Council #8925


2017/2018 Columbian Year

2016 – 2017 Council Officers

Chaplain: Fr. Dmytro Dnistrian
Grand Knight: Br. Mike Kiernicki
Deputy Grand Knight: Open
Financial Secretary: Br. Gord Lasko
Treasurer: Br. Garry Winch
Recording Secretary: Br. Bohdan Wowczuk
Chancellor: Br. Jim Tchir
Warden: Br. Jack Eyer
Advocate: Br. George Gaba
Lecturer: Br. George Koch
Inside Guards: Br. Rudy Macsymach / Br. George Koch
Outside Guards: Br. Rick Kendall / Br. Ed Tycholis
Trustees: Br. George Hayes / Br. Walter Lukie / Br. Peter Washchyshyn

Scroll to Top